HIPAA-compliant fax for physical therapy clinics
Physical therapy clinics receive referrals and signed plans of care by fax from physicians' offices, so inbound volume and reliable delivery to the right person matter as much as price. 7 online fax services sign a BAA on a plan you can buy yourself; the cheapest paid option is SRFax ($10.70/mo per account). Verified 2026-09-24.
| Vendor | Signs a BAA? | Cheapest plan with BAA | From | Certifications | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Doximity DocFax | Yes, all plans | Free | Free | None stated | 2026-09-24 |
| SRFax | Yes, all plans | Healthcare Lite | $10.70/mo per account | None stated | 2026-09-24 |
| WestFax | Yes, all plans | Solo | $14.99/mo per account | HITRUST (type not stated), SOC 2 (type not stated) | 2026-09-24 |
| iFax | Paid plans only | Plus | $24.99/mo per account | SOC 2 (type not stated), ISO 27001 | 2026-09-24 |
| Documo (mFax) | Yes, all plans | Solo Cloud Fax | $25/mo per account | SOC 2 Type II | 2026-09-24 |
| Weave | Yes, all plans | Not stated | $199/mo per account | None stated | 2026-09-24 |
| eFax (Business / Corporate) | Paid plans only | Business | See vendor | HITRUST r2 (eFax Corporate) | 2026-09-24 |
Only services that state a BAA on a self-serve plan are listed; enterprise-only and unstated BAAs are on thefull fax comparison. Ordered by lowest published price, which may assume annual billing.
What to check before you choose
- The BAA is included on the plan you're buying, not only on a higher tier. Each vendor page links to the vendor's own BAA terms.
- Whether received pages count toward the monthly allowance, and what overage pages cost.
- Whether you can keep your existing fax number so referring physicians don't need to update it.
- How received faxes are routed: email notification, shared inbox, or several users.
- How long received faxes are stored and whether you can export them for your records.
General information, not legal advice. Confirm BAA terms with the vendor before sending protected health information.